U.S. – India Comparative Constitutional Law 2.0 – Essay Competition

April 30, 2022 | Varsha Nair

The Centre for Law and Policy Research (CLPR) in collaboration with its partnered Indian and U.S. law universities, organised a series of cutting-edge workshops on U.S.-India comparative constitutional law between October 2021 and January 2022.


An essay competition was folded into the workshops which gave students the opportunity to apply their learnings to an essay prompt and the added incentive of winning prize money and attending the closing ceremony of the project. The top 2 essayists from each workshop were invited to the closing ceremony that was clubbed with the world premiere of a theatre production event AEEEN staged in April 2022.


There were a total of 8 essay finalists from 5 different universities.:


  1. Yashvardhan Singh – National Law School of India University, Bangalore (NLSIU)
  2. Bodhisattwa Som – NLSIU
  3. Hari Govind Menon – The National University of Advanced Legal Studies, Kochi (NUALS)
  4. Mekha Vijayakumar – NUALS
  5. Nishasri S – Tamil Nadu Dr. Ambedkar Law University, Chennai (TNDALU)
  6. Vibha Shyam Sekar – TNDALU
  7. Tushitta Murali – Tamil Nadu National Law University, Tiruchirappally
  8. Sanjana Rebecca J – School of Law, Christ University, Bangalore


The winners of the competition were Yashvardhan Singh (First Prize), National Law School of India University, Bangalore Hari Govind Menon (Second Prize), National University of Advanced Legal Studies, and Nishasri S. (Third Prize), Tamil Nadu Dr. Ambedkar Law University. The students were handed over the certificates and prizes at the ceremony and interacted with the CLPR and United States Consulate General Chennai officials.



The essays of the 8 finalists of the essay competition are published here : Student Essays.


Varsha Nair


View profile